Wilkinson WVC HUMBUCKERS – Vintage (Brand) VS6 SG

These humbuckers are PAF style…and apparenly “wound to the same specification as given to Trevor Wilkinson by the creator of the humbucking pickup design, Seth Lover himself” Found stock in a Vintage (the brand, not to be confused with an actual old expensive Gibson) VS6 SG copy, listed as MWVC, however are marked as WVC, with further suffix indicating neck or bridge position and/or covered colours, on the wilkinson website.

DSC09903DSC09906

Magnet – Alnico V

Measured DC Neck – 8.6K ohms

Measured DC Bridge – 9.4K ohms

11154902_696449517167630_5305857865225003881_o

Bridge humbucker tones suit the SG perfectly! nice and chimey in the top end, and clarity when ringing out chords.Cutting, but not in an overly icepick to the forehead way. Really enjoyed this pickup, in this guitar. Neck humbucker however falls a bit short when it comes to chord definition and riffing, and exhibits a bit of  ratty/harsh characteristic.  Does an ok job for single notes/bends. I feel this lets down the overall sound when both humbuckers are selected. Noted – No microphonics or undesirable squealing present in either humbucker pickups.

Demo (aquired the guitar used, has not been setup and restrung)

4 thoughts on “Wilkinson WVC HUMBUCKERS – Vintage (Brand) VS6 SG

  1. I own a 2004 Vintage VS6 and I totally agree on your verdict. Just recently I replaced the Wilkinson pickups with affordable Epiphone Burstbuckers which in addition have split coil by push pull potmeters. These are much clearer in tone. I also own a VS6VW from a more recent year, and it’s not the same as the 2004 model. The pups sound much muddier. I am not sure how constant a quality is delivered by JHS, but somehow I think the old models are better. The Vintage VS6 now has horns with increased asymmetry, which makes it less attractive to people who want a lookalike.

    Like

    1. I have Wilkinson WVS vintage-voiced Alnico V pickups on a new Vintage strat, Suddenly stop working. I sent messages to Vintage guitars in UK. Never wrote me back. Another quick dead to China made pickups. They sounded good for a short life. Epiphone is a good choice.

      Like

  2. Thank you for this review. I was searching for the name and brand of the pickups that are installed in my vintage sg and found it here. I must say I am so very much pleased with these pickups! Bridge is perfect for rocking and the neck pickup beats all my guitars in warmness and “bluesness” when played clean. It’s a real joy to play this guitar!

    Like

Leave a comment